Search through more than a hundred articles on every aspect of User.com

Michael Wertenberg
Written by Michael Wertenberg

Single opt-in, double opt-in

The difference between single and double opt-in and how to implement them in User.com


Single opt-in

What single opt-in means

Single opt-in means subscribing and being added to a list of subscribers or providing an email address while simultaneously consenting to its use for marketing purposes. Using single opt-in, we do not confirm consent; providing an email address itself is understood as consent.

How to use single opt-in

In other words, how the user can leave you an email address

  • Via a prompt appearing in the chat window (automatically, to every unknown user without an email address after he or she sends a message on chat)
  • Via your chatbot, during a conversation, the bot can ask the user for an email address in order to renew contact later. Remember to "Save as attribute".
  • Via a form (pop-ups) displayed on the website: in the form, you can ask the user for any details you need and then assign them as attributes of this user.

Double opt-in

What double opt-in means

Double opt-in is when the user, after signing up for the newsletter, receives an email asking for confirmation of the subscription. It's much safer and lets you verify which user has provided their real email address. It also verifies the quality of email addresses in the database, e.g. whether an email address actually exists or that there are no mistakes or spaces in it. Such a procedure has a positive effect on the subsequent email-opening rate and does not clutter up your database with erroneous emails, the number of which influences the price of your User.com subscription.

How to use double opt-in in User.com

Let’s look at an example.

  • Client’s attribute change (email address provided or changed) is the trigger for this automation. More info here.
  • The user receives an email (from a campaign prepared beforehand) that contains a link directing the user to the website where the form is located. The purpose of the message is to click on the link. So, use the exit node "on click". More info here.
  • It's important to set a short delay. This will give the user 2 - 3 seconds to be redirected from the email to your website.
  • We recommend setting up only one checkbox to confirm consent. Submission of the form is considered confirmation of the subscription. You should have, beforehand, created a "Custom attribute" which will be used to identify users who have confirmed their subscription; name it, for example, Re-consent, and give it a "Value type" boolean (true/false, yes/no). For information on creating "Custom attributes", read this article.
  • After confirmation of consent, the system adds the user to the list of confirmed subscribers.

After completing all of the above-mentioned steps, we can assume that only the users on the list mentioned above are of value to us.

What about the rest of the users? How do I delete users who do not belong to any list?

In the section "Data" -> "People", on the right, click on the filter icon. Check the checkbox "User list" and, from the drop-down menu underneath, choose 'is unknown'. Scroll to the bottom, choose 'Return objects matching filters', and click "Search". Now, only users not assigned to any list will be visible. Close the tab "Filters", click on the button "Manage", and, from the drop-down menu, choose "Remove users". This way, you clean your database of users who did not confirm their subscription.

This is simply one of many automations available at User.com.

You can find more ideas here.

Related articles

Categories: